Informationliberation.com A new Illinois law is threatening parents who leave their children home alone if they are 13-years-old or younger. The new Illinois law states that parents who leave 13-year-olds home are guilty of neglect, and subject to arrest, as well as their children being taken away by police. The new law states that "any minor under the age of 14 years whose parent or other person responsible for the minor's welfare leaves the minor without supervision for an unreasonable period of time without regard for the mental or physical health, safety, or welfare of that minor" is now considered “neglected.” This is the strictest law related to child neglect in the entire nation. Most states do not have a minimum age for leaving children home alone. In three states, 12 is set as the minimum age. Once you are a teenager, even they say you are old enough to be left home alone. Three other states set the bar at 8-years-old. Kansas says 6 is the minimum age. But more than 30 states say it is all very relative and the State should not define neglect based upon a sweeping generalization of age.... Furthermore, the law says that taken children away can be done by police without a warrant. Even if a court later decides that the parents were in the right, the damage to the children and family has already been done. As well, it puts the onus on innocent parents to prove their innocence, based on police subjectively deciding that they think a 13-year-old left at home is being “neglected.”... Put simply, this is absurd.
Sign up for our free e-mail list to see future vaticancatholic.com videos and articles.